Damien LeRoy swept the men's pro division.

Damien LeRoy swept the men’s pro division.

Words and Photos Courtesy Damien LeRoy

Competitors from all over traveled to the 11th annual Kite Masters and caught some of the best conditions Miami, FL has to offer. It was a perfect day with winds averaging around 16 knots with beautiful blue skies.  Riders Like Hope Levin from the Turks and Caicos Islands was on hand with an incredible showing as she cleaned up for the women, winning the women’s slalom race and the women’s pro freestyle.

In the Men’s pro division it was a blast from the past as riders like Jon Modica put on a twin tip for the first time in years. Billy Parker, Damien LeRoy and Drew Christianson had a great showdown in the finals putting on a show for the crowd, to see who could walk away the 2015 Kite Masters Champion.


Tight race on slalom course!

The event belonged to the Jr. Division. The ages varied from 13 to 16 years of age. These kids were on another level pushing each other harder and harder in every heat. Cabrinha riders cleaned up with Joseph Prieto, Roman Rose and Jacob Olivier taking the top three spots. Other Jr. Division competitors including James McGrath, Andy Umana and Andre Basic were also on fire throughout the whole event.


There was a high level of riding in the freestyle comps.

A big thanks goes out to Slingshot’s Neil Hutchison, Christophe Ribot and his entire team at Miami Kiteboarding for putting on the event, not to mention all the support from the volunteers on hand helping out all the athletes throughout the whole day. The Crandon park officers and Ocean Rescue staff for working out closely with  the event organizers and finally to all the parents who had athletes in the Jr. Division you should be very proud!

The 2015 Miami Kite Masters were sponsored by : Slingshot, Ozone,  Star Kiteboarding,  Dharmi.com, Kustom Paddle, ZEM Shoes, Fanatic, Platinum, Oceanvida.org, Tshirts-by-color Miami.

The Jr. Division.

Some of the up and coming riders from the Jr. Division.

Final results:

Mens Pro Freestyle:
1. Damien LeRoy (Cabrinha)
2. Billy Parker (Best)
3. Drew Christianson (Naish)

Women’s Freestyle Pro:
1. Hope LeVin (Naish)
2. Melissa Gil (Cabrinha)

Mens Jr Division Freestyle:
1. Joseph Prieto (Cabrinha)
2. Roman Rose (Cabrinha)
3. Jacob Olivier (Cabrinha)

Women’s Jr Division Freestyle:
1. Karen Zerquera

Mens Pro Slalom:
1. Damien LeRoy (Cabrinha)
2. Billy Parker (Best)
3. Drew Christianson (Naish)

Women’s Slalom Pro:
1. Hope LeVin (Naish)
2. Melissa Gil (Cabrinha)

Mens Jr. Division Slalom:
1. Roman Rose (Cabrinha)
2. Jacob Olivier (Cabrinha)
3. Andre Basic

1. Enrique Gianello