Pacasmayo, Peru (Wednesday, October 19, 2011) — Today marks the first day of the 10-day holding period of the Pacasmayo Kite Surf Pro, the second stop of the 2011 KSP World Championship Kite Surfing Tour. With swell forecasted to ramp up later this week, KSP officials called a lay day today.

“We are putting the contest on hold for the day,” states KSP Head Judge Brad Price. “We anticipate getting underway in great surf this weekend.”

On Saturday afternoon, a long-period southwesterly ground swell is forecast to light up “El Faro” point at Pacasmayo. With the swell predicted to peak on Sunday at 7.5 feet, models show the swell holding through Wednesday. Wind conditions also look promising throughout the duration of the swell.

Competitors spent the past two days kite surfing amidst waist- to head-high waves and lounging at El Faro Adventure Resort. Yesterday, Pacasmayo gave KSP competitors a grand welcome with a magnificent parade through the town’s center. School children and locals in various forms of traditional dress led the procession, which was later followed in true Peruvian fashion by a ceremonial gift to the gods. In the evening, an official opening ceremony took place at the town hall of neighboring Jequetepeque. Escorted by a marching band, the kick-off party made its way to BSP Horse Stables for a demonstration of traditional Peruvian horse riding.

Event directors will re-assess conditions tomorrow morning at 9 a.m. and announce the day’s schedule, with a 10 a.m. first possible start.

The live broadcast of the Pacasmayo Kite Surf Pro will resume tomorrow morning, October 20 at 9 a.m. (PET) on Don’t miss the video updates and photos at For the video of the day, visit Follow the KSP World Championship Tour on Facebook at or on Twitter at

The KSP 2011 Pacasmayo Kite Surf Pro is sponsored by Prom Peru and presented by the El Faro Resort and Pacasmayo Cementos. The KSP World Championship Tour is sponsored by ION essentials and Vitamizzer.



Heat 1: Mauricio Pedreira (BRA), Bastien Bollard (FRA), Juan Antonio Gordillo (PER)
Heat 2: Bruno Bordovsky (BRA), Nuno Figueiredo (POR), Felippe Ferreira (BRA)
Heat 3: Patri McLaughlin (HI), Guilly Brandao (BRA), Bear Karry (USA)
Heat 4: Mitu Monteiro (CBV), Paulo Rios (POR), Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA)
Heat 5: Jesse Richman (HI), Etienne Lhote (FRA), Mark Moore (CAN)
Heat 6: Juan Pablo Diban (CHI), Lee Harvey (GBR), Octavio Chaine (ARG)
Heat 7: Sky Solbach (USA), Jeremie Eloy (FRA), Scott Peterson (USA)
Heat 8: Airton Cozzolino (ITA), Jacobo Said (PER), Libero Cozzolino (ITA)

Heat 1: Ines Correia (POR), Maayka Tadema (NED), Milla Knese (BRA)
Heat 2: Kristin Boese (GER), Erika Lindberg (SWE), Kristy Jones (GBR)
Heat 3: Melissa Gil (USA), Kelly Strachan (USA), Laurel Eastman (USA)
Heat 4: Marie Gautron (FRA), Adriana Harlan (HI), Celina Guardati (ARG)